Mandatory internet filter in Australia? No thanks.

Dear Mr Tanner,
I am writing to voice my concerns on the introduction of a mandatory filter of all internet traffic in Australia.

I think it is undemocratic and the system of censorship poorly executed. I don’t think it is appropriate for a government to pick and choose what information is available to and hidden from society.

If I was interested in the government wasting my money on an internet censorship programme, I would move to China.

There are better ways to protect vunerable users of the internet from damaging content. This could be through optionally installed software or through diligent parenting.

I hope you can voice my opinions during parliament sitting and I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the matter.

Kind regards,
Snoutling

….Link to PDF fact sheet by GetUp! on the issue.

….Link to GetUp! Campaign website.

2 Responses to Mandatory internet filter in Australia? No thanks.

  1. Melanie Chilianis says:

    I enjoyed your letter immensely. Did Mr Tanner respond? We don’t want our government sticking its beak in any more than it already does.

Leave a Reply

