The Arthouse – Fuck I’m Dead.

I’m feeling sad about the impending closure of the Arthouse: my favourite pub in Melbourne. I was introduced to this place by my brother, who has regularly played in bands there for about 15 years. All were always welcome at the Arthouse, from the after-5-business-crew to the punks. The Galaga tabletop machine and the graffiti in the torlets were highlights, not to mention the friendly staff and music.
I attended a grindcore show there last Sunday with the following line-up:

FUCK IM DEAD
CAPTAIN CLEANOFF
THE KILL
THE DAY EVERYTHING BECAME NOTHING
SUPERFUN HAPPYSLIDE
ROADSIDE BURIAL [SYD]
GARBAGE GUTS
DIE PIGEON DIE
INTERNAL ROT

There was lots of fast drumming to watch, especially by The Kill. (Even with no double-kick pedal.) I have a special place in my heart for this 3-piece. Superfun Happyslide and Captain Cleanoff were also full of energy, however, Fuck I’m Dead pulled off the most amusing performance- with the lead singer spitting tampons into the crowd and managing to finish the second-last song whilst vomiting. Good times.

Arthouse GrafArthouseArthouse


Read related Snippets post
about Arthouse graffiti.

Leave a Reply

