Socks and Undies – The Survey

I have been wondering what is “normal” when it comes to needs and wants in relation to clothing. When do my friends think it is time to throw out their underwear? Is it common to have over forty pairs of socks? Do I really need all those socks?

I created a survey to in an effort to consider my own needs and wants and to compare them with others. I am, after all, a self-confessed spy-bird who enjoys going for walks around the neighbourhood hoping people have their front blinds open so I can see whether there is an appropriate flower arrangement in the lounge room or an oversized TV. Rather than coming to your house to look in your sock drawer, I thought it would be simpler and more fun for you to complete an online survey. (That is, of course, if you are willing to participate.)

Separately, yet adjacent to this musing, I recently read the Book “Stuff: Compulsive Hoarding and the Meaning of Things.” by Randy O. Frost and Gail Steketee. I realised I did not have a serious hoarding problem, but the book assisted me to make more of an effort to take unused items to the op-shop. Perhaps this survey will form a personal inventory of your things. You might be encouraged to consider what will stay and what will go, and how often you really need to buy a new pair of shoes.

The survey has 10 multiple-choice questions. It will take about 3 to 7 minutes, depending on the accuracy of your counting. Survey participants are anonymous, however the general results will be published in Snippets in November.
Click here to take survey

2 Responses to Socks and Undies – The Survey

  1. Angry of Mayfair says:

    Where are the results? We’re all on tenterhooks here, you know…

    • snoutling says:

      I’m writing the results now. I have to go out to dinner tonight, so I daresay the post will be up tomorrow afternoon.

Leave a Reply

